edit

Manage your Bitrise workflow

To start editing your workflow you first have to open it in the Workflow Editor on Bitrise.io:

  1. Log in on Bitrise.io and select your app on the Dashboard
  2. Select the Workflow tab

This is your app's Workflow Editor. You can change, delete, add and reorder steps here. Don't forget to Save or you can Discard changes on the top right._

Change a step

Select the step you want to change from the list on the left side. You can change the selected Step's inputs and other configs on the right side.

Note

Steps are executed top-to-bottom, you can reorder them with Drag and Drop.

Upgrade a Step to the latest version

When a new version is available for a Step in your Workflow, you can update it in two ways:

  1. Click the orange dot, our update indicator in the top right of the Step's icon to upgrade the Step to the latest available version
  2. Or select the Step and in the right side's Version section update to the new version manually.

In the dropdown you can set a Step to always latest. In this case we'll always update it without further notice.

Your settings / provided input values for the Step will be kept for the new version.

Update steps in Workflow Editor

Remove a step

Select the step on the left side and click on the trash can on the right side or delete it at the bottom of the step.

Add a new step

If you want to add a new Step to the Workflow, just click the + between the Steps you want the new one to be.

Add step button in Workflow Editor

This will show you a list of available Steps in our Step Library. You can search and filter these steps if you want to, or just browse through the collection. Clicking the Step will add it to your Workflow and then all you have to do is fill in its required inputs (on the right side you'll see which inputs are required - marked with an orange border).

You can also clone a Step by clicking the Clone icon on the right side and then you can Drag and Drop it to its place.

Create a new Workflow

To create a new Workflow just click on the + sign at the top, where your workflows are listed.

You can create as many workflows for an app as you like.

Using multiple workflows can be beneficial in case you want to do different things based on which branch you push new code. To see how you can control what event should trigger which workflow, see: Control what to build when, with the Trigger Map

New workflows are created as a copy of the active workflow when you click the + button.

You can delete the current active workflow with the orange Delete button at the top right corner of the workflow area.

Step inputs

Inserting Environment Variables into Step inputs

Click into any input field of a Step and a green Insert Variable button will appear. Click this button and you'll get a full list of available Environment Variables. You can search this list, and when you find the one you're looking for just click it, and it'll be inserted into the input field for you.

Environment Variable replace mode

Under every Step input field you can see one of these two indicators:

  • Environment Variables will be replaced in input
  • or Environment Variables won't be replaced in input

It's the status of the is_expand option of the input. You can change this only in YAML mode (bitrise.yml tab of the editor).

What does this option do?

  • If enabled it'll replace Environment Variables (e.g. $HOME or ${HOME}) inside the input text with the Environment Variable's value before it would be passed to the Step.
  • If disabled it won't replace anything in the input text, the whole text will be passed to the Step "as-it-is".

What does this mean? For example, if you have $HOME in the input text and you enable this option, it'll replace every occurrence of $HOME in that input with the value of the HOME environment variable (in this case, the home folder's path, e.g. /Users/[user] or /home/[user]). If it's disabled then it won't be replaced, the value you specify for the input will be passed as text ($HOME), and the Step itself might or might not expand the value.

Usually you should leave this option on the default value, the one defined by the Step for the input.

In general you should not change this option, but if you have to, you can do that in YML mode, by adding is_expand: true or is_expand: false to the input's opts list. Example:

- some_input: My Value
  opts:
    is_expand: false

A practical example / guideline

As a general guideline, this option should almost always be enabled, unless you have a specific reason to disable it.

What can be a reason to disable it? There's pretty much only a single reason: if your input includes the $ character (in a password for example), and you want to keep the $ character in the input, instead of replacing it with an environment variable.

If you have this expand option enabled and you have a password like pas$word it'll most likely result in pas after the value expansion, because there's no $word environment variable available (unless you defined it somewhere). There might be other cases when you explicitly want to include the $ character in the input, in these cases you should disable the expand option.

Note: if you want to reference another environment variable, even if that one's value includes the $ character, you have to enable this option, or else your reference won't work. In a case like this you should disable this option where you specify the value with $ in it, and enable the option everywhere else, where you reference that environment variable.