bitrise.yml online
GitHub

bitrise.yml online

Every bitrise.yml file is stored for your builds on bitrise.io. They come in handy when you’d like to check the configuration with which a specific build has run. To do that, you can either use the online Workflow Editor or your build’s online bitrise.yml file. If you choose the latter, you can compare changes, restore the current build to the original version, edit the config, and download the file to your Mac/PC.

Using filters on your Builds Board

If an app has multiple builds on bitrise.io and you want to pick a specific build out of those, then these filters will help you a lot. Click on your app in your Dashboard and use the following fields:

  • You can search for a build number or commit message in theTry build number or commit message grey field.
  • You can pick which of these triggers was used for your build: Pushes, Pull Requests, Tags or all of these.
  • You can pick which branch the build was started on.
  • You can select either the primary or the deploy workflow of the build.

Screenshot

Accessing a build’s bitrise.yml

  1. Select an application on your Dashboard and select one of its builds.
  2. Click the Show bitrise.yml button at the top OR at the bottom of your inline log. You should see your build’s bitrise.yml content displayed in ace editor but it’s not editable here. See where you can edit the bitrise.yml online.

Checking changes in bitrise.yml online

Once you’ve clicked Show bitrise.yml, you will see the BUILD'S BITRISE YML pop-up window displaying your builds’ configuration details. If the build's bitrise.yml content differs from the current build's bitrise.yml, you will see two editors displayed side-by-side in the BITRISE.YML CHANGES pop-up window. The differences between the builds are highlighted in the following colors:

Screenshot

Restoring and undoing changes in bitrise.yml online

If you don’t like the changes made to your current bitrise.yml, you can easily restore it to the build’s original bitrise.yml.

  1. Click the Show bitrise.yml button at the top OR at the bottom of your inline log on bitrise.io.
  2. In the BITRISE.YML CHANGES pop-up window, click the orange Restore button.
  3. Hit OK in the Are you sure? pop-up window to confirm and override the current bitrise.yml.

Screenshot

Editing and downloading bitrise.yml online

You can edit your build config in yml format in the bitrise.yml editor if you go to your app’s Workflow Editor and click the bitrise.yml tab.

You can save or discard any changes you have made with the config. If you click Download currently saved config, you can download this YML version to your own computer and run it with bitrise CLI on your Mac/PC.

You might want to clone this whole YML configuration or just part of it to another app, so that you can use the copied version as a base and extend it with a few extra steps. All you have to do is copy this bitrise.yml content and paste it into the new app’s bitrise.yml editor and develop it further.