Rolling builds

You can cancel running builds or builds on hold - no need to abort them manually! If you turn on the Rolling Builds feature, you can automatically abort the previous builds of your app once a new one is started.

Manual and scheduled builds

Please note that manual and scheduled builds are also cancelled if you start a new build with the Rolling builds option enabled.

Also, builds running on the same branch will be cancelled even if they run different workflows!

Bitrise Start Build step

The Bitrise Start Build step allows users to trigger a different workflow as one of the steps of a given workflow. Unfortunately, if the Rolling Builds feature is enabled, the triggered workflow will cancel the previous workflows.

You can also set which types of triggered builds you wish to abort. Let's see how!

  1. Open your Dashboard on bitrise.io and select your app.

  2. Select the Settings tab from the menubar.

  3. Scroll down to the ENABLE ROLLING BUILDS option and toggle it.

    Rolling Builds

  4. Select the type(s) of builds you wish to abort when a new build is started.

    • Pull Requests: will cancel all previous builds for Pull Requests and all related Pushes
    • Pushes: will cancel all previous builds for Pushes to the same branch
    • Running builds: will also auto-cancel running builds in addition to on-hold ones

And done! From now on, you don't have to wait for a triggered build to finish if you do not need it!