GitHub

Adding and removing Steps

Steps can be added or removed any time from the Workflow Editor: all it takes is a couple of clicks.

Adding a new Step

You can add any Step to your workflow - there are absolutely no restrictions. Please note that this means that it’s possible to add a Step specific to, for example, iOS apps to a workflow of an Android app. Always make sure you only add the relevant Steps to your workflow!

  1. Open your app by clicking on the app’s name on your Dashboard.
  2. Click the Workflow tab. Note that you cannot leave the Workflow editor without either saving or discarding any changes you made.
  3. Select the workflow you need in the WORKFLOW dropdown menu on the top left.
  4. Click the + symbol between two Steps to insert a Step at that position.

    Adding a step

This will show you a list of available Steps in our Step Library. You can search and filter these steps: enter a search expression in the Search steps field and set the platform on the right of the field. Note that by default, you will only see the Steps that are relevant to the platform of your project: click LL to search within all the available Steps.

Clicking the Step will add it to the selected workflow. Don’t forget to save the workflow when you are done!

You can also clone a Step by clicking the Clone icon on the right side and then you can Drag and Drop it to its place.

Adding Steps from alternative sources

Generally, we recommend using Steps that are part of the official Bitrise Step Library. But you can add Steps from other sources, if you want to: you can use either a git URL or a local path. Read more about these in our Steps in YAML guide.

On the Bitrise website, the git:: special source is the easiest way to use a Step that is not in the Bitrise Step Library. Let’s see how.

  1. Open your app by clicking on the app’s name on your Dashboard.
  2. Click the Workflow tab.
  3. Click the bitrise.yml tab.
  4. Add the git URL of the Step you want to use.

    In this example, we’re adding the Script Step from a git source:

    - git::https://github.com/bitrise-io/steps-script.git@1.1.3:
    
  5. Click Save.

Removing a Step

You can remove a Step at any time. Be aware, however, that if you add it back at a later date, the Step inputs will be set to the default value - any custom configuration will be gone.

  1. Open your app by clicking on the app’s name on your Dashboard.
  2. Click the Workflow tab. Note that you cannot leave the Workflow Editor without either saving or discarding any changes you made.
  3. Select the workflow you need in the WORKFLOW dropdown menu on the top left.
  4. Click the Step you want to remove.
  5. Click the trash bin icon on the right.
  6. Click Save.