bitrise.io

Managing Workspace members

Workspaces can have multiple Groups. Groups are the “backbone” of Workspaces: they contain the members of the Workspaces, they can be assigned to different applications owned by the Workspaces, with different roles assigned to the different groups. Being a member of a Workspace means being a member of one of the groups belonging to the Workspace.

For example, let’s say the Workspace called TestOrg owns an app called TestApp. TestOrg has the following groups:

Workspace groups and roles

Please note that Workspace groups have no inherent roles at all. A group can have multiple different roles on different apps. Even if a Workspace group is called Admin, it doesn’t have the Admin role on any app by default and you can assign them to apps with other roles, too.

Creating groups for Workspaces

  1. Sign in with an account that is an owner of the Workspace.
  2. In the top right corner, open the account selector dropdown menu.
  3. Find the Workspace you need and click the little gear icon next to its name.
  4. On the left, select Groups from the menu options.
  5. Find the Create new Group section at the top.

    Managing Workspace members

  6. Enter a group name in the Enter Group name field, and click Create.

Adding members to Workspaces

Signing up with an email

Please note that if you want to sign up for Bitrise with an email address, the address cannot contain the character +. Older accounts with such email addresses still exist but they cannot be invited to Orgs using the address. When adding them, use the username instead.

In practice, adding members to a Workspace means adding members to a group belonging to a Workspace. Once you have the groups you need for your Workspace, adding members to them is very simple.

  1. Sign in with an account that is a member of the Workspace.
  2. In the top right corner, open the account selector dropdown menu.
  3. Find the Workspace you need and click the little gear icon next to its name.
  4. On the left, select Groups from the menu options.
  5. Find the group you need and click the + sign to the right of the name of the group.

    Adding a member to a Workspace on the Group tab

  6. Enter a username or an email address.
    • If you enter a username, the system will suggest existing Bitrise users that at least partially match your input. Click the user you wish to invite.
    • If you enter an email address, click the Enter symbol on the right to send the invitation.
  7. From the Team tab you can also access all the functions to manage groups. You simply have to click MANAGE GROUP to the right of the group members.Managing a group from the Team tab
  8. Click the action you need in the pop-up window, including removing the group from the app.Managing a group

Removing members from Workspaces

Members can be removed from the entire Workspace or from one of the groups belonging to a Workspace. In practice, this means that a single member can be removed from working on any of the apps belonging to the Workspace or only from selected apps.

Removing group members

  1. Sign in with an account that is a member of the Workspace.
  2. In the top right corner, open the account selector dropdown menu.
  3. Find the Workspace you need and click the little gear icon next to its name.
  4. On the left, select Groups from the menu options.
  5. Find the group and the group member you are looking for, and click the little x in the red square on the right of the username of the member.Removing a group member from an Org

Removing members from the entire Workspace

Removing members from the entire Workspace removes them from all the groups they are part of in the Workspace and they can no longer work on any of the apps unless they are invited back, either as a group member or as an outside contributor.

  1. Sign in with an account that is a member of the Workspace.
  2. In the top right corner, open the account selector dropdown menu.
  3. Find the Workspace you need and click the little gear icon next to its name.
  4. On the left, select People from the menu options.
  5. Find the member you are looking for, and click the little x in the red square on the right of the username of the member.Removing members from an Org
  6. In the pop-up window, click Yes.

    This way you can remove yourself from the Workspace. You will lose all access rights you had to the Workspace. Only click Yes in the pop-up window if you are certain you wish to do this.

    Confirming the removal of a Workspace member

Deleting groups

  1. Sign in with an account that is a member of the Workspace.
  2. In the top right corner, open the account selector dropdown menu.
  3. Find the Workspace you need and click the little gear icon next to its name.
  4. On the left, select Groups from the menu options.
  5. Choose the group you wish to delete, and click the dropdown menu indicated by the symbol.
  6. Click Delete group then click Yes in the pop-up window.