Accessing a build's bitrise.yml file

Once you ran a build on Bitrise, you can always check the bitrise.yml configuration the build used. You can download it, compare it to the current bitrise.yml file, and you can even replace the current configuration file with the build's configuration file.

To access a build's configuration file:

  1. Select an application on your Dashboard and select one of its builds.

  2. Select bitrise.yml on the right, above the build status card.

  3. In the dropdown menu, select Show bitrise.yml.

Checking changes in the bitrise.yml file

Once you’ve clicked Show bitrise.yml, you will see the BUILD’S BITRISE YML pop-up window displaying your builds’ configuration details. If the build’s bitrise.yml content differs from the current build’s bitrise.yml, you will see two editors displayed side-by-side in the BITRISE.YML CHANGES pop-up window. The differences between the builds are highlighted in the following colors:

  • Green means added content.

  • Blue means modified content.

  • Red means deleted content.

Managing an app's bitrise.yml configuration

Restoring the current bitrise.yml to the build's bitrise.yml

You can always change the current bitrise.yml configuration to the configuration of one of your app's previous builds. To do so:

  1. Select an application on your Dashboard and select one of its builds.

  2. Select bitrise.yml on the right, above the build status card.

  3. In the dropdown menu, select Show bitrise.yml.

  4. In the BITRISE.YML CHANGES pop-up window, click the Restore button.

  5. Hit OK in the Are you sure? pop-up window to confirm and override the current bitrise.yml.

    Managing an app's bitrise.yml configuration

Deleting a build's bitrise.yml file

If you wish, you can simply delete a build’s bitrise.yml file. But please note that this action cannot be undone: nobody will be able to view that particular build’s bitrise.yml file once you delete it.

  1. Select an application on your Dashboard and select one of its builds.

  2. Select bitrise.yml on the right, above the build status card.

  3. In the dropdown menu, select Delete bitrise.yml.

  4. In the confirmation window, click Yes.