Adding Steps to a Workflow

Steps can be added or removed any time from your Workflows. When adding a new app to Bitrise, the project scanner generates at least one Workflow with some default Steps but you don't have to use these at all: it's up to you what Steps you want to include.

You can add any Step to your Workflow - there are absolutely no restrictions. Please note that this means that it’s possible to add a Step specific to, for example, iOS apps to a Workflow of an Android app. Always make sure you only add the relevant Steps to your Workflow!

Adding Steps in the Workflow Editor

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Go to the Workflow tab.

  3. Select a Workflow from the WORKFLOW dropdown menu.

    Installing any additional tools
  4. Click the + symbol between two Steps to insert a Step at that position.

    Adding a step
  5. Search for the Step you need.

    Search filter

    Be aware of the filter to the right of the search field. By default, the filter is set to the platform type of your app. For example, if you want to add a Step to an iOS app, the the search will be filtered to iOS Steps. Click ALL to search among all Steps.

  6. Click the Step to add it to the Workflow.

Adding Steps from alternative sources

Generally, we recommend using Steps that are part of the official Bitrise Step Library. But you can add Steps from other sources, if you want to: you can use either a Git URL or a local path.

On the Bitrise website, the git:: special source is the easiest way to use a Step that is not in the Bitrise Step Library. Let’s see how.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Go to the Workflow tab.

  3. Go to the bitrise.yml tab.

  4. Add the git URL of the Step you want to use.

    In this example, we’re adding the Script Step from a git source:

    - git::https://github.com/bitrise-io/steps-script.git@1.1.3:
  5. Click Save.

Removing a Step from a Workflow

You can remove a Step at any time. Be aware, however, that if you add it back at a later date, the Step inputs will be set to the default value - any custom configuration will be gone.

Disabling a Step

If you don't want a Step to run but want to keep the Step configuration intact, you can disable the Step: Enabling or disabling a Step conditionally.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Go to the Workflow tab.

  3. Select a Workflow from the WORKFLOW dropdown menu.

    Installing any additional tools
  4. Click the Step you want to remove.

  5. Click the trash bin icon on the right.

  6. Click Save.