GitHub

Managing workflows

You can chain multiple workflows, rearrange the order of workflows in a chain, as well as rename workflows at any time in the Bitrise Workflow Editor.

Chaining workflows together

You can set up multiple workflows to run in succession. The order of these workflows can be rearranged, new workflows can be added to the chain and existing workflows can be removed from it at any time.

Bitrise Start Build Step

Be aware that if you chain workflows together as described in this guide, all the workflows will still run on the same Virtual Machine. However, if you use the Bitrise Start Build Step as described in our Starting parallel builds with a single trigger guide, each of the triggered workflows will run on a separate Virtual Machine.

  1. Click the app’s Workflow tab. Note that you cannot leave the Workflow Editor without either saving or discarding any changes you made.
  2. Open the WORKFLOW menu on the left and select a Workflow. The default is the primary workflow. You can chain workflows before and after the selected workflow.
  3. Click Add Workflow before to chain a Workflow before the currently selected one or click Add Workflow after to chain a Workflow after the currently selected one.

  4. Click Save in the top right corner.

Rearranging workflows

Once you have a chain, you can easily rearrange the order of workflows in a drag-and-drop menu.

  1. Click the app’s Workflow tab. Note that you cannot leave the Workflow Editor without either saving or discarding any changes you made.
  2. Open the WORKFLOW menu on the left and select a Workflow that is part of a chain.
  3. Click Rearrange to bring up a drag-and-drop menu where you can rearrange the Workflows of the chain.

  4. Click Save in the top right corner.

Renaming workflows

Rename your workflows at any time you feel necessary: it’s quick and simple.

  1. Click the app’s Workflow tab. Note that you cannot leave the Workflow Editor without either saving or discarding any changes you made.
  2. Open the WORKFLOW menu on the left and select a workflow.
  3. Click RENAME next to the name of the workflow.

  4. Type the new name then click the check mark to save the new name.
  5. Click Save in the top right corner.