bitrise.io

Accounts and Workspaces

Credit-based subscription plans

From August 2021, new users can only sign up for the new, credit-based subscription plans. If you sign up for a new account, you can either use the new Hobby plan for free or create a Workspace after signing up to try out the Teams plan. For more information, check out the relevant FAQs and our pricing page:

You can also check out our comparison of concurrency-based plans and credit-based plans: Comparing credit-based and concurrency-based plans.

When you sign up for Bitrise, you create your own individual user account. By itself, having a user account isn’t enough to add apps and run builds. To be able to work on Bitrise, you need at least one of three options:

To sign up for a paid subscription of your own, you need to create your own Workspace.

Legacy users

Legacy users are users with concurrency-based accounts: you have a concurrency-based account if you do not use credits when running builds. Legacy users can still add apps on their personal account and run builds of those apps without a Workspace.

In Teams vs Workspaces, we discuss the difference between Workspaces and app teams.

Teams vs Workspaces

The most important concepts to managing apps on Bitrise are:

Teams vs groups

Teams and groups are not the same! Groups are the main building blocks of Workspaces but by themselves have no powers: they need to be assigned to apps.

Workspace members can be assigned to applications individually or as a group. The same Workspace group can have different roles on different application teams.

So here’s a quick summary of teams and Workspaces:

Teams Workspaces
App-based Global
Roles assigned by the app’s admins or owners No inherent roles: just owners and members
Only have access to a single app Can own and control multiple apps

For more info, check out our pricing page!