Skip to main content

Changing the owner of an app

Abstract

You can change the owner of an app from the Workspace profile page or from the app's App settings page.

Workspaces own apps. When you add an app to Bitrise, you select the Workspace that will act as the owner of the app. From that point, only the owners of the Workspace can change the ownership of the app.

It can happen that you need to transfer an application on Bitrise to another Workspace. This can be done in two ways:

  • You can select the apps you want to transfer from the Workspace profile page's Apps tab.

  • Any given app can be transferred from the app's App settings page.

Transferring apps from the Workspace profile page

Owners only

You must be an owner of the Workspace to transfer its apps to another Workspace.

Apps with outside contributors

When transferring apps with outside contributors to a Workspace that doesn't allow outside contributors, the existing contributors are automatically removed from the app's team.

  1. Log in to Bitrise and open the account selector dropdown menu in the top right.

  2. Find your Workspace and click the little gear icon next to its name to get to your Workspace's profile page.

  3. On the left, select Apps from the menu options.

  4. Click the Transfer ownership (↔) button next to the app's name to select an app.

  5. Select a user or Workspace to transfer the app to them.

    transferownership_2.png
  6. Click Transfer ownership to finalize.

    Transferring ownership is permanent

    Only the new owner can change the app's ownership after the transfer has been completed!

Transferring an app from App settings

  1. Log in with an account that is an owner of the app.

  2. Open the App Settings page.

  3. Make sure that you have General selected from the menu options on the left.

  4. Scroll down to the Danger Zone label.

  5. Click the Transfer app ownership button.

    transferownership.png
  6. Select a user or a Workspace to transfer the app to them.

    transferownership_2.png
  7. Click Transfer ownership to finalize.

    Transferring ownership is permanent!

    Only the new owner can change the app's ownership after the transfer has been completed!