Skip to main content

Workspace members

Abstract

A Bitrise Workspace allows seamless collaboration on Bitrise apps. You can manage Workspace membership on the Collaboration page of the Workspace settings. A member can be an owner, a regular member or an outside contributor.

Your Workspace isn't just an environment to manage apps: it also allows seamless collaboration with other Bitrise users. You can invite other users to your Workspaces, and of course you can be invited to other Workspaces, too.

You can manage Workspace membership on the Collaboration page of the Workspace settings. Membership is divided into four categories:

  • A member of a Workspace can be added to any Workspace group and can be assigned any role on the team of apps owned by the Workspace.

  • A Workspace group allows assigning multiple members to app teams at the same time. Groups can be assigned their own user role on an app's team. The same group can have different roles on an app's team.

  • Outside contributors can be invited to work on a specific app's team. They are not managed on the Workspace level but on the app level.

  • Owners can manage every aspect of the Workspace, including membership, apps, billing, and integrations.

You can manage regular members on the Members tab. On the tab, you can see:

You can search for a specific Workspace member or use the filter function to filter members based on their roles.

Adding members to Workspaces

You can invite people to a Workspace if they have a Bitrise account. Workspace members can be assigned to the apps owned by the Workspace. When inviting new members, you can:

  • Add users in bulk: you can invite as many members as the number of available seats on the Workspace.

  • Add them to the team of all apps owned by the Workspace, or just to particular apps.

  • Assign them user access roles to manage their permissions on the apps' team. When adding users in bulk, all of them will be assigned the same role.

SAML SSO

Bitrise supports SAML SSO for your Workspace. To learn more, check out SAML SSO in Bitrise.

Inviting a new member to a Workspace with SAML SSO enforced is a different process: Adding a new user to a Workspace with enforced SAML SSO.

You can modify a member's user roles on app teams at any time after inviting them. You can also add members to Workspace groups.

Workspace members and roles

Workspace members and Workspace groups have no inherent roles at all. You can assign groups or individual members to app teams and choose their user role there. The same member or Workspace group can have different roles on different apps.

A Workspace group's name is not relevant: even if a Workspace group is called Admin, it doesn’t have the Admin role on any app by default and you can assign them to apps with other roles, too.

To add individuals as a Workspace member:

  1. Log in to Bitrise and hover over the left navigation bar.

  2. Make sure you have the right Workspace selected.

  3. Select Settings.

    workspace-settings-new.png
  4. On the left, select Collaboration.

  5. On the Members tab, click Add members.

  6. In the dialog box, find the New members section and add the email addresses of the people you want to invite.

    add-members-to-workspace.png

    Workspace limits

    You can't invite people who are already part of the Workspace and the number of invitations can't exceed the available seats of the Workspace.

  7. When done, click Next. It takes you to the Set workspace role page.

  8. Select a Workspace role that defines access to the Workspace settings.

    • Manager: The user can access and modify Workspace settings such as connected service accounts, can manage members but can't access billing details and can't delete the Workspace.

    • Viewer: The user can't access Workspace settings and can't add new members or manage existing members.

  9. After clicking Next, set the access roles for the new members in the different apps. You can select either of three options:

    • All apps: Set the same role for all apps of the Workspace. All new members will have access to all the apps of the Workspace, including any future apps added to the Workspace, with the same permissions.

    • Roles per app: Set a role for each app. If you choose the None (no access) option, the new member won't have access to that app at all.

    • Click the Skip now button to skip setting roles for now. This means none of the new members will have access to any apps until you assign them roles.

    assign-ws-roles.png

    User roles cheatsheet

    You can check the permissions of each user role: go to the All apps view and click Show permissions.

  10. When done, click Assign role to finish the process.

Removing members from Workspaces

Owners and managers only

Only Workspace owners and Workspace managers can remove users from a Workspace.

  1. Log in to Bitrise and hover over the left navigation bar.

  2. Make sure you have the right Workspace selected.

  3. Select Settings.

    workspace-settings-new.png
  4. On the left, select Collaboration.

  5. Select the Members tab.

  6. Search for the user you would like to remove, and click "remove_png.png".

  7. Click Remove to remove the selected user from your Workspace.

    remove_member_confirm.png

Managing user roles in Workspaces

Workspaces have three access roles:

  • Owner: Only Owners have full access to the Workspace, including managing membership and app ownership. Only Owners can delete the Workspace.

  • Manager: Managers can access almost all Workspace settings, including managing members. They can't access billing and can't delete the Workspace.

  • Viewer: Viewers are Workspace members who can be added to the teams of the apps owned by the Workspace. They don't have access to the Workspace settings.

You can manage user roles on app teams from your Workspace page.

Workspace groups

Workspace groups can also have their own user roles assigned: that means every user in the group will have the same role on the same app's team: Managing app access roles for Workspace groups.

  1. Log in to Bitrise and hover over the left navigation bar.

  2. Make sure you have the right Workspace selected.

  3. Select Settings.

    workspace-settings-new.png
  4. On the left, select Collaboration.

  5. On the Members tab, you can see the existing members of the Workspace and their roles.

  6. Click the edit icon edit-webhook.svg next to a member's name to edit their roles in app teams.

  7. On the Apps tab, set the access roles for the member on the different apps. You can select either of two options:

    • All apps: Set the same role for the member for all apps of the Workspace.

    • Roles per app: Set a role for each app. If you choose the None (no access) option, the member won't have access to that app at all.

    User roles cheatsheet

    You can check the permissions of each user role: go to the All apps view and click Show permissions.

  8. When done, click Save changes.