Skip to main content

Rolling builds

Abstract

With the rolling builds feature, you can configure Bitrise to automatically abort on-hold builds or already running builds if another build is triggered on the same branch.

You can cancel running builds or builds on hold - no need to abort them manually! If you turn on the Rolling Builds feature, the previous builds of your app can be automatically aborted once a new one is started.

Please note that manual and scheduled builds are also cancelled if you start a new build with the Rolling builds option enabled.

When is a build aborted?

If you trigger a build on a branch where a build is already running, the running build is aborted only if it runs the same Workflow.

For example, if you trigger a build on the master branch of your repository with the deploy Workflow, it will NOT cancel a build running on the same master branch with the primary Workflow.

You can also set which types of triggered builds you wish to abort. Let’s see how!

Admin access only

Only users with the role of admin on the app's team can access all functions of the App Settings page of an app.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Click on App Settings.

  3. On the left, select Builds.

  4. Find the Rolling builds section.

  5. Select the type(s) of builds you wish to abort when a new build is started.

    RollingBuilds.png

Enabling the options will do the following:

  • Enabled for Pull Requests: will cancel all previous builds for Pull Requests and all related Pushes.

  • Enabled for Pushes: will cancel all previous builds for Pushes to the same branch.

  • Running builds are aborted: will also auto-cancel running builds in addition to on-hold ones.

All done! From now on, you don’t have to wait for a triggered build to finish if you do not need it!