Skip to main content

Managing user access to an app

Abstract

To collaborate on an app, users must be part of the app's team. You can add Workspace groups to an app from the Workspace settings' Team page or from the App settings page.

Each Bitrise app is owned by a Workspace - but this doesn't mean that all members belonging to that Workspace have access to a given app. In order to be able to collaborate on an app, users must be part of the app's team.

An app's team consists of all users invited to work on an app. There are two ways to add users to an app's team:

Similarly, there are two ways to revoke access to an app:

Adding an outside contributor to an app team

An outside contributor is a user who is a part of an app's team but isn't a member of the Workspace that owns the app.

Admins and owners only

You need to be an admin on the app's team or one of the owners of the Workspace that owns the app to be able to add new team members to an app.

Allowing outside contributors

Workspaces can disable allowing outside contributors. To do so, go to your Workspace's profile page and select the Team tab on the left. Switch to the Outside contributors tab and toggle off Allow outside contributors.

When an app with outside contributors is transferred to a Workspace that doesn't allow outside contributors, the existing outside contributors of the app are automatically removed from the app's team.

Admin access only

Only users with the role of admin on the app's team can access all functions of the App Settings page of an app.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Click on App Settings.

  3. From the menu on the left, select Team.

  4. Make sure that you are on the People tab.

  5. Click Add Contributor.

  6. Type their email address and select their role.

    If they are not registered on Bitrise, we will send out an invitation email for them.

  7. Click Save.

Adding Workspace groups to an app team

Workspaces consist of groups: the groups contain all users who belong to the Workspace. To assign users from a Workspace to a certain app, the most convenient way is to assign their group to the app's team.

Example 1. An app team consisting of Workspace groups

Let’s say the Workspace called TestSpace owns an app called TestApp. TestOrg has the following groups:

  • Group Alpha - they are assigned to TestApp with an Admin role. Members of this group can assign other groups to the app or add outside contributors, change app settings, manage roles and workflows.

  • Group Beta - they are assigned to TestApp with a Developer role. Members of this group can run builds, view build logs and view builds.

  • Group Gamma - they are assigned to TestApp with a Tester/QA role. They can only view builds.


There are two ways to assign Workspace groups to a Bitrise app's team:

  • You can assign it from the Team tab of the Workspace's profile settings page.

  • You can assign it on the App settings page of the app.

Assigning a group from the Workspace's profile settings page

  1. Sign in with an account that is an owner of the Workspace and open its profile page by selecting the gear icon next to the Workspace's name.

    open_workspace.png
  2. On the left, select Team from the menu options and make sure you are on the Groups tab.

    edited_team_page.png
  3. Choose the group you wish to assign, and click the dropdown menu indicated by the 3_dots.png symbol.

  4. Click Manage access to apps.

  5. You can find the app(s) you need and select the appropriate role for the group, or you can select a role for the group for all current apps using the radio buttons.

    Assign_access.png

    Role cheatsheets

    You can check out the role cheatsheet on the User roles on app teams, or find it on any app’s Team tab.

  6. Click Save changes to finalize changes.

Assigning a group from the App settings page

  1. Go to the app’s page on bitrise.io.

  2. Click on App Settings.

  3. On the left, select Team from the menu options.

  4. Make sure that you are on the Groups tab.

  5. Click on Grant access for group.

    new_team_grant.png
  6. Find the group you wish to add and select the role for the group using the drop down menus.

  7. Click Save.

Revoking access to an app from a group

Admins and owners only

You need to be an admin on the app's team or one of the owners of the Workspace that owns the app to revoke access to an app.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Click on App Settings.

  3. From the menu on the left, select Team.

  4. Go to the Group tab.

  5. Search for the group you would like to remove and click "remove_png.png".

    Remove_group.png
  6. Click Revoke access in the resulting window to revoke the group's access from the app.

    Revoke_access_group.png

Revoking access to an app from a single user

Admins and owners only

You need to be an admin on the app's team or one of the owners of the Workspace that owns the app to revoke access to an app.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Click on App Settings.

  3. From the menu on the left, select Team.

  4. Go to the People tab.

  5. Search for the user you would like to remove and click "remove_png.png".

    Revoke_access.png
  6. Click Yes in the resulting window to revoke their access from the app.

    Remove_team_member.png