Skip to main content

Managing Workflows

Abstract

You can chain multiple Workflows, rearrange the order of Workflows in a chain, as well as rename Workflows at any time in the Bitrise Workflow Editor.

You can chain multiple Workflows, rearrange the order of Workflows in a chain, as well as rename Workflows at any time in the Bitrise Workflow Editor.

Chaining Workflows together

You can set up multiple Workflows to run in succession. The order of these Workflows can be rearranged, new Workflows can be added to the chain and existing Workflows can be removed from it at any time.

Bitrise Start Build Step

Be aware that if you chain Workflows together as described in this guide, all the Workflows will still run on the same virtual machine. However, if you use the Bitrise Start Build Step, each of the triggered Workflows will run on a separate virtual machine: Starting parallel builds with a single trigger.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Click the Workflows button on the main page.

  3. Select a Workflow from the WORKFLOW dropdown menu.

    select-workflow.png
  4. Click the ellipsis (...) button to the right of the name of the Workflow.

  5. From the dropdown menu, select Insert Workflow before to chain a Workflow before the currently selected one or select Insert Workflow after to chain a Workflow after the currently selected one.

    Managing Workflows
  6. Click Save in the top right corner.

Rearranging chained Workflows

Once you have a chain, you can easily rearrange the order of Workflows in a drag-and-drop menu.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Click the Workflows button on the main page.

  3. Select a Workflow from the WORKFLOW dropdown menu.

    select-workflow.png
  4. Click the ellipsis (...) button to the right of the name of the Workflow.

  5. From the dropdown menu, select Rearrange Workflows to bring up a drag-and-drop menu where you can rearrange the Workflows of the chain.

    Managing Workflows
  6. Click Save in the top right corner.

Renaming Workflows

Rename your Workflows at any time you feel necessary: it’s quick and simple.

  1. Open your app on Bitrise.

  2. Click the Workflows button on the main page.

  3. Select a Workflow from the WORKFLOW dropdown menu.

    select-workflow.png
  4. Click RENAME next to the name of the Workflow.

  5. Type the new name then click the check mark to save the new name.

  6. Click Save in the top right corner.

Utility Workflows

Bitrise supports a special type of Workflow called a utility Workflow. A utility Workflow's ID always starts with an underscore character: for example, _setup. They are usually used to perform tasks that are required either at the start or at the end of several different Workflows: for example, you can separate git cloning and activating your SSH key into a utility Workflow instead of adding those Steps to every Workflow of an app.

You can create a utility Workflow the exact same way as you create a regular one. To denote it as a utility Workflow, you just need to prefix the name with an underscore.

Important

Utility Workflows cannot be run as standalone Workflows. They need to be chained together with a normal Workflow, either before or after the Workflow: Chaining Workflows together.

For more information on how to set up a utility Workflow directly in the bitrise.yml file, check Workflow reference.