User roles on app teams

Roles are very important on Bitrise. They limit what you can and cannot do with an application.

Roles work on an app basis: the same user can have different roles on different applications. As such, Workspaces have no inherent roles, apart from that of the Workspace owners: Workspaces have groups and different groups can be assigned different roles on an app's team.

Owners

Bitrise apps are owned by Workspaces. On the app's team, users who are owners in the Workspace have the owner access right to the app.

Here’s the role cheatsheet for owners:

User roles on app teams

Owners have unlimited access to apps. Only owners can destroy apps or transfer the ownership of apps, and only they have access to payment information.

Admins

Here’s the role cheatsheet for admins:

User roles on app teams

An admin cannot delete an app but can invite other members to work on the app. The admin can also give admin rights to other users - however, they cannot transfer ownership of the app!

Developers

Here’s the role cheatsheet for developers:

User roles on app teams

Developers cannot change team member roles, add new team members, remove existing team members or create, edit or delete workflows. They can, however, run builds and view build logs.

They have no access to sensitive data such as payment information, access tokens or even webhooks.

Testers/QA

Here’s the role cheatsheet for testers/QA:

User roles on app teams

Testers can only view builds. They cannot access build logs and they cannot modify the app in any way or form.

They have no access to sensitive data such as payment information, access tokens or even webhooks.